Horn alum joins U-Tennessee faculty; tubists win top honors in competition

The School of Music congratulates Katie Johnson, 2012 DMA graduate of the horn program, who will begin this fall as assistant professor of horn at the University-of Tennessee at Knoxville.

Katie writes: “I began my MM work in the fall of 2008.  I came to UW to study horn with Douglas Hill.  From the beginning, he was incredible.  The opportunity to study with him literally changed the course of my career. I came to him in 2008 wanting to be an orchestral performer and I left his studio having truly found my calling as an educator.  Observing Doug teach during those first months all the way to the time of his retirement was a remarkable opportunity.  We developed a great friendship over the years and I am happy to say that I am still learning about the horn, teaching and life from him.

“I had such an extraordinary experience with Doug during my MM work that I decided to stay at UW to complete the DMA degree.  I began that degree in the fall of 2010. It was shortly after I began my DMA work that Doug announced his retirement.  Although it took my studies on a different trajectory that I expected, I had the opportunity to study with Doug and our new horn professor, Dan Grabois.  They are quite different teachers but I learned a great deal from both of them.  The situation worked out quite well for me.  I completed my DMA in the spring of 2012 and I have taught horn lessons and freelanced in the Chicago area for the past year.  Now I am thrilled to be moving to Knoxville to fill the position of Assistant Professor of horn at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville.”

Katie Johnson, UW DMA, horn performance, 2012
Katie Johnson, UW DMA, horn performance, 2012

We also are happy to announce the fabulous performance of the UW Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble at the 2013 International Tuba Euphonium Association Midwest Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference at Illinois State University. Here are the results:

Jacob Grewe, 1st place Tuba Artist Competition.
Tim Morris, 1st place Euphonium Young Artist Competition.
Aaron Hynds, 1st place Mock Orchestra Tuba Audition.
Matthew Mireles performed a recital as a featured guest artist.
The UW Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble performed a concert as a featured ensemble.

Says Matt Mireles, UW undergrad euphonium instructor: “We had a blast over there, and it was great to see all of our hard work pay off.  Congratulations to everyone.  UW swept all of the competitions we competed in, and the tuba ensemble was the talk of the conference!”

Dr. Matthew Mireles
Instructor, Undergraduate Euphonium
Conductor, University Band and Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble
University of Wisconsin-Madison
President, Andy Mireles Charitable Foundation

Leave a Reply

